Google’s new chat app, Allo should be deleted, says Edward Snowden on warning people not to use it, as it avails Google to read everything that they say.
Google’s new chat app was finally released after showing it off over the summer. It has a robot that watches everything what people say and then stores it for analysing, to later improve the app itself.
Indicating that chats are stored on Google’s servers indefinitely, the company had earlier said, that the messages would be stored temporarily, which would limit any hack of the data stored. But with this app, Google won’t be doing the needful, as it will keep hold of all conversations.
Google will improve parts of the app, like smart replies through the use of that data by taking queue from the conversations, which would suggest people what they should say to their friends. Also Google would use the same data to target ads on users in the future. Since those conversational data might include some sensitive data, it could lead to breach of them too.
Google may also appear to work side by side with the law as they would be keeping track of all messages, to be easily accessible by law enforcement with warrants, which other apps like iMessage or WhatsApp can’t do, as both of them earlier did not give information access to the authorities.
Snowden had sent out several tweets telling people to not use Allo;
“Free for download today: Google Mail, Google Maps, and Google Surveillance, he wrote. That’s #Allo. Don’t use Allo”
Another one was, “What is #Allo? A Google app that records every message you ever send that makes it available to the police upon request”
Earlier this year after Allo’s showcase at Google’s I/O conference, Snowden had told that Allo was dangerous.
A Google spokesperson said, “We have given users transparency and control over their data in Google Allo, and our approach is simple, your chat history is saved for you until you choose to delete it. You can delete single messages or entire conversations in Allo. He added that there is an option to chat in Incognito mode, where messages are end to end encrypted, where also you can set a timer to automatically delete messages for your device and the person you’re chatting with at a set time”.